BeethovenNOW: Gil Shaham

Susanna Mälkki - Conductor

Gil Shaham - Violin


Jolas - A Little Summer Suite

Beethoven - Violin Concerto

INTERMISSION - Intermission

Prokofiev - Symphony No. 5

Saturday, November 30, 2019

8:00 pm Verizon Hall
Beethoven's only violin concerto is “an amazing trip,” says Gil Shaham, from the opening drumbeats, through some of “the most sublime, most beautiful violin passages ever,” to the “perfect fiddling” of the final dance. Susanna Mälkki, renowned interpreter of new music, leads Betsy Jolas's A Little Summer Suite, written in 2015 on the eve of the composer's 90th birthday. The deceptively simple opening of Prokofiev's rhapsodic Fifth Symphony gives way to a rich and complex display of his expansive talents, conceived, in the composer's words, as “a symphony of the greatness of the human spirit.”
Group Tickets

Ticket orders of 10 or more save!

Contact Group Sales

This Concert is a part of the following subscription packages:

Subscription Packages